In 2010, Imane Farès founded the eponymous gallery in Paris, with the ambition to promote the practices of contemporary artists from the African continent and the Arab worlds. This strong commitment to artistic scenes that are rarely put forward, resonates with her dual Lebanese and Senegalese identity.

The gallery has been recognised by its peers as a precursor of this transformation of the art world’s cartography and now represents nine artists, whose work spans a wide range of media: installation, public sculpture, film, photography, drawing, but also fiction and theatre writing, as well as curating. It systematically organises these artists’ first solo exhibitions in France.

In order to accompany their work, the gallery makes it a point to provide them with unconditional material support and to encourage the creation of critical discourse around their projects.

The gallery regularly collaborates with various cultural actors: with museums and art centres that co-produce exhibitions (Beaux-Arts de Paris, Rmn – Grand Palais, WIELS, Smith College Museum of Art, …); with producers who ensure the development and distribution of short and feature films, often presented in international festivals (Locarno Film Festival, IFFR, CPH:DOX…); with French and foreign publishers (Dilecta, Autograph, Kerber Verlag…) that co-publish ambitious monographs.

A journal is published for each exhibition, and curators and art critics are invited to contribute to it. Among them are Lotte Arndt, Roxana Azimi, N’Goné Fall, Loïc Le Gall, Simon Njami, Smooth-Ugochukwu C. Nzewi, Natasa Petresin-Bachelez, and Akram Zaatari.

The gallery is proud that the works of artists represented are part of major public and private institutions, namely: Tate Modern (London), MAXXI (Rome), Museo Nacional de Arte Reina Sofia (Madrid), Museum Für Moderne Kunst (Frankfurt), Rietberg Museum (Zürich), MCA Chicago, Centre Pompidou (Paris), Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum (New York), Art Jameel Collection (Dubai)­… and that they also participate in major international exhibitions (biennales, documenta, Festival d’Automne à Paris).

Team

Imane Farès, Founder

"Imane Farès became a gallery owner belatedly, not out of conformism but out of curiosity. Driven by enthusiasm, she knows how to reassure visitors intrigued by the works, sometimes cutting-edge, arranged behind her large glass window. (...) In 2010, a space becomes available in front of her home, she makes this crazy bet: to open a gallery. She doesn't know many people in the art world. With tenacity and a sure eye, she gave a chance to conceptual artists from Africa and the Arab world (...). With those who pass through her doorstep, she knows how to find the words to lead them to elsewhere. In her image, singular and whole, the team receives with patience, seeking to learn as much as to transmit about art and the world that is spinning".
— Roxana Azimi, extract from Guide Hazan de l’art contemporain 2019, Éditions Hazan, Paris, 2018

Line Ajan, Director / Artist Liaison

line[at]imanefares.com
Contact for: Sammy Baloji, Ali Cherri, Alia Farid, Emeka Ogboh, Younès Rahmoun.
After completing her studies at the University Paris 1 Panthéon-Sorbonne, Line Ajan joined the gallery in 2017. In 2019-2020, she is a recipient of the Barjeel Global Fellowship at the Museum of Contemporary Art (MCA) Chicago, Illinois. She is a member of the editorial board of Qalqalah قلقلة, a platform for artistic exchange, research and translation and regularly contributes to the digital platform figure figure.

Boris Atrux-Tallau, Gallery Manager / Artist Liaison

boris[at]imanefares.com
Contact for: Sinzo Aanza, Basma Alsharif, Mohssin Harraki, James Webb.
A graduate of the École du Louvre and EHESS, Boris Atrux-Tallau joined the gallery in July 2019 after having worked in the New Media department of the Musée national d'art moderne / Centre Georges Pompidou (Paris), in Bétonsalon - Centre d'art et de recherche (Paris) and with several artists.

Valentin Rolovic, Registrar

valentin[at]imanefares.com
Valentin Rolovic has held the position of Head Registrar since September 2020. He has previously worked at the Parc Saint Léger, at the Artothèque, maison du livre, de l'image et du son in Villeurbanne and at the Florence Loewy gallery in Paris.

Vanessa Ardouin, Intern

From July 2021 to January 2022

Social networks


Legal

Copyright © 2020 Imane Farès and the artists, all rights reserved.

Design by Cyril Makhoul

Imane Farès fonde en 2010 la galerie éponyme à Paris, avec pour ambition de valoriser les pratiques d’artistes contemporains du continent africain et des mondes arabes. Cet engagement fort vis-à-vis de scènes artistiques rarement mises en avant résonne avec sa double identité libanaise et sénégalaise.

Reconnue par ses pairs comme précurseure de cette transformation des cartographies de l’art, la galerie représente neuf artistes, dont les travaux s’étendent à un large spectre de médiums : installations, œuvre dans l’espace public, film, photographie, dessin, mais aussi écriture romanesque et théâtrale et commissariat d’exposition. Elle organise de manière systématique leurs premières expositions personnelles en France.

Pour accompagner leur travail, elle met un point d’honneur à leur apporter un soutien matériel inconditionnel et à favoriser l’émergence d’un discours critique autour de leurs projets.

Elle s’associe ainsi régulièrement avec divers acteurs culturels : des musées et centres d’art avec lesquels elle coproduit des expositions (Beaux-Arts de Paris, Rmn – Grand Palais, WIELS, Smith College Museum of Art, …), des maisons de production qui assurent le développement et la diffusion de courts et longs métrages, souvent présentés et primés dans des festivals internationaux (Festival international du film de Locarno, IFFR, CPH:DOX, …), des éditeurs français et étrangers avec qui elle s’associe pour publier d’ambitieuses monographies (Dilecta, Autograph, Kerber Verlag, …).

Un journal est édité à chacune des expositions et commissaires et critiques sont invités à y contribuer. On peut compter parmi eux : Lotte Arndt, Roxana Azimi, N’Goné Fall, Loïc Le Gall, Simon Njami, Smooth-Ugochukwu C. Nzewi, Natasa Petresin-Bachelez, Akram Zaatari.

La galerie est fière que des œuvres majeures des artistes représentés fassent partie de collections publiques et privées d’envergure, notamment : Tate Modern (Londres), MAXXI (Rome), Museo Nacional de Arte Reina Sofia (Madrid), Museum Für Moderne Kunst (Francfort), Musée Rietberg (Zurich), MCA Chicago, Centre Pompidou (Paris), Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum (New York), Art Jameel Collection (Dubaï)­. Ils participent aussi aux plus importantes expositions internationales (biennales, documenta, Festival d’Automne à Paris).

Équipe

Imane Farès, Fondatrice

"Galeriste, Imane Farès l’est devenue sur le tard, non pas par conformisme mais par curiosité. Dopée à l’enthousiasme, elle sait rassurer les visiteurs intrigués par les œuvres, parfois pointues, disposées derrière sa large vitrine. (…) En 2010, un espace se libère en face de chez elle, elle fait ce pari fou : ouvrir une galerie. Elle ne connaît alors pas grand-monde dans le milieu de l’art. Avec ténacité et un œil certain, elle a donné leur chance à des artistes conceptuels originaires d’Afrique et du monde arabe (…). Avec ceux qui passent le pas de sa porte, elle sait trouver les mots pour les mener vers des ailleurs. À son image, singulière et entière, l’équipe reçoit avec patience, cherchant à apprendre autant qu’à transmettre sur l’art et le monde qui tourne."
— Roxana Azimi, extrait du Guide Hazan de l’art contemporain 2019, Éditions Hazan, Paris, 2018

Line Ajan, Gallery Manager / Artist Liaison

Après des études à l'Université Paris 1 Panthéon-Sorbonne, Line Ajan rejoint la galerie en 2017. En 2019-2020, elle est bénéficiaire du Barjeel Global Fellowship au Museum of Contemporary Art (MCA) Chicago, Illinois. Elle fait partie du comité éditorial de Qalqalah قلقلة, plateforme d’échanges artistiques, de recherche et de traductions et contribue régulièrement à figure figure, revue digitale.

Boris Atrux-Tallau, Gallery Manager / Artist Liaison

Diplômé de l'École du Louvre et de l'EHESS, Boris Atrux-Tallau rejoint la galerie en juillet 2019 après avoir travaillé au département Nouveaux Médias du Musée national d’art moderne / Centre Georges Pompidou (Paris), à Bétonsalon – Centre d’art et de recherche (Paris) et avec plusieurs artistes.

Valentin Rolovic, Régisseur

Valentin Rolovic occupe depuis septembre 2020 le poste de régisseur principal. Il a par le passé travaillé au Parc Saint Léger, à l'Artothèque, maison du livre, de l'image et du son de Villeurbanne et à la galerie Florence Loewy à Paris.

Réseaux sociaux


Mentions légales

Copyright © 2020 Imane Farès et les artistes, tous droits réservés.

Design by Cyril Makhoul